All Hallows’ Eve

I held you in my dreams that night, like I used to, when you were afraid long ago. I didn’t know yet exactly the features of the thing that had broadsided me, and then you, but I had seen it’s shape in the dark, and it brought tears even before full impact. And you were so kind, giving to me that afternoon before you felt its full impact.

I’ve known for some time this day would come, a very long time really.  And though I didn’t know its features exactly, not like I know the features of your face, I knew its shape, I knew it would come and land in our house. I thought my fear might stop it, but fear stops nothing.

Now that it’s here, it helps a little to see its face more clearly, its features, its origins. Still, it hurts as much as I feared. How can it not, when the patches have just come from your eyes, the skin off your flesh, and it has reminded me so much of how my own came off? How can it not when I know how it has all come to be, and that it could not be any other way?

But I have to thank you for being the one to hand me the floodlight to see it all clearly this time. You amaze me sometimes.

A good floodlight, in the form of words on a page, or the face of another who is intimately familiar with the features of the thing that broadsided you, can be a wonderful thing. It is how we see fully the dynamic that injured us, and the exact nature of the injury, which of course is necessary to know which bones to set, which medicines to take. It is what is necessary to help us get our bearings, to see exactly where we are, and where we must go next. It illumines the ground on which we find ourselves in the wake of the collision, and helps us recognize exactly what we must mourn in order for our souls to regenerate.

We, all of us in one way or another, stand on a ground of so many losses. They comprise our foundation as much as does the solid, good beauty beneath us. And the losses are as worthy of traditions that honor them as is the bounty we celebrate at Thanksgiving—it has been my experience that it is only in properly honoring them that they can transform from something rigid and toxic into something fertile and sustaining, something firm enough to support both the laughter and the tears.

You have surveyed other crash sites by other floodlights, I know, but this floodlight is perhaps the brightest and most painful yet.

This lingering on what has come into sharp focus, I can hear some of you saying, is unnecessary; focus on the positive. I disagree. Because without the searing honesty of the floodlight at the scene of the collision, none of the truth of it—not our fears, nor the ways we found to survive, nor the injuries sustained—will be laid out bare and naked, which is essential if we are going to be able to discern exactly what has been broken, where the flow of blood needs stanching, what needs mending, and later, which muscles need exercise.

This is the reason I need to put into words the darkness and the fact of the collision scenes we sometimes find ourselves sitting at. Words have the power to bring to the surface the tears we need to shed. Words have the power to take that which is within and lay it out where it can be seen, where others can help us pick up the shards and help us mourn. And unless we mourn, we cannot grow the soul and resilience we need to live fully.

It is by the illumination of the floodlight that our resistance is disarmed and we can begin to honor that which we find in the dark and transform it into something new and life-sustaining. It is how we can begin to see that things could not have been any other way, how we let go of resistance, shame, and blame. It is what enables us to stop saying If Only. It illumines exactly how our flexibility and bounce have been eroded, how our backs and kidneys have become fatigued, and how we might heal. It is in the light of the floodlight that suffering can begin to ease, that we find the strength to bury that which must be buried.

Our nights are getting so long now. The ground is spread with red and yellow as striking, in their own way, as the blooms of spring. It’s a good time to honor that which darkness read and yellow leavesrepresents, a good time to be coming up on All Hallow’s Eve, a good time to remember that life and death, joy and sorrow are hallowed, worthy of honor. And it’s a good time to be thankful for light that illuminates the darkness.

And you, heart of my heart, will not be alone as you do this work; you too have an entire tribe of us who have gone before you standing there with you.

11 thoughts on “All Hallows’ Eve

  1. This has such meaning for me Connie yet were I asked I couldn’t say what. It is very beautiful, captures strangely the atmosphere as perhaps it once was at this time of year before electricity transformed it. I shall need to read it again at intervals.

    • Thanks Roger; your attention to my thoughts means so much. As to being unsure why it had meaning for you… isn’t that the way is sometimes is? A piece of music leaving the person next to us utterly unmoved resonates deeply for some reason… perhaps it’s taken us to an important experience in our own memory, something we haven’t been conscious of for a long time? We’ll talk. 🙂

  2. Dear Connie    I am continually grateful to be receiving your profound capacity to bring the depths of life to the forefront and the page in ways that I cannot even begin to find language to describe.  Your courageous willingness to bring forth your experience and wisdom, are floodlights for all who receive your most amazing gift.  Take gentle care, robyn

    • That’s potent affirmation Robyn, and all the more so, given the source. Thanks for reading; I’m deeply honored. And thanks for the key role you’ve played in helping me face my own resistance and fear, for reminding me that I am in fact strong enough to bend rather than break, and that I can access that truth even in the face of my worst fears with those I love most.

  3. Connie your prose becomes poetry as you trace in allegory reference to thanksgiving and Halloween – light and darkness. Without darkness light has muted contrast and less meaning as you beautifully demonstrate.

  4. Thank you Connie, for a sterling meditation, a floodlight, on our ways of radiant imperfection, revelatory failings. A contemplative piece, worthy of the Saints, on all Saints Day.

  5. Pingback: Why a sad song for the road makes you kinder | Grow Mercy

Leave a comment