Weekly Photo Callenge: Blue. Or: Not Having an office job to go to

What I love, what I hate about not having an office to go to: a dozen of each. 

I can’t keep office hours right now. I’m working part-time, but it’s editorial assistance work I can log into and do from my kitchen table.

What I love about this arrangement:

1) Deep and calm sleep, and waking when my body wants to, not when the clock says I must.

2) Being able to see the surface of my desk.

3) Flexibility. My days are as busy as I want them to be, and if I want to have an extended morning coffee on the couch by the fire with my iPad, I can. If I want to wear leggings 3000 days in a row, I can. If I want to fit my exercise in before I dress for the day, I don’t have to get up extra early to do so.

4) Never running out of clean socks, t-shirts or towels.

5) Having time for hobby writing.

6) Fifty-cent lunches that include healing organic chicken broth I have time to make myself.

7) Having a yard that looks lived-in, quack-grass and dandelions that are mostly under six inches in height, and not having to fit the home and garden in when I would really rather be relaxing at the end of a long day.

8) Having to-do lists that I might complete this century.

9) Having time to breathe, to take at least three or four Scrabble turns in a day, to read at least one news story, and to read the writing of some amazing bloggers out there. (I’m still working on choosing my favorites for that Kreativ Blogger Award.)

10) Being the only one who never has to miss Book Club.

11) Not having to choose between a lunch break and, say, a hair appointment.

12) Being flexible enough to bend around almost everyone else’s schedule. You want to catch up over lunch but can only make it on Wednesday, week after next, at 11:33, in the far northeast end of town? No problem.

What I hate about this arrangement:

1) Not having any colleagues to exchange the quotidian with.

2) Not having any colleagues to have lunch with.

3) Not having the gratification that comes with professional respect.

4) The income.

5) The isolation and what feels to me at times like desperate, choking loneliness.

6) Not getting a lot of professional gratification or respect. (Have I already mentioned that?)

7) Feeling like, since everyone else in the family has more on their plate than I do, it’s up to me to do the grunt work, all of it.

8) Feeling like the entire world is on speed, and that I alone maintain a normal marathon pace.

9) Feeling like an anachronism, like I belong back in the 50s, like I’m the only one with a clean shower and no life, though my shower isn’t actually even clean.

10) Feeling trivial for posting entirely self-absorbed blog posts such as this one.

11) Being vaguely aware of envy in place of empathy emanating from my friends. I love you all dearly, and it’s a nice arrangement in many ways, and I’m thankful for it. But my experience of the past 18 months and the new fibromyalgia-riddled, energy-reduced, fresh-out-of-estrogen me hasn’t exactly been a picnic either. Don’t underestimate the freedom and pleasures of good health, or the satisfaction and self-esteem and power employment brings.

12) Feeling trivial for playing at hobby photography (though I now prefer to think of it as Miksang, or Contemplative Photography, thanks to Louise over at The Sacred Cove, and for taking part in things like the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge. (Blue, this week, which suits the mood I’ve worn for several months now, but which made me think of the colour blue in a photo I took on a lovely vacation we took a number of years ago, and which I have included above, even though it has nothing to do with this post.)

 

6 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Callenge: Blue. Or: Not Having an office job to go to

  1. well – life is a little like that for me too! perhaps this 6 of one, half a dozen of the other is a world-wide phenomenon deserving of some high priced research money. Perhaps you should write up a grant proposal? ha ha – that’s when you have time, energy, and no grunt work to do! Tonight I feel like going to sleep at 6 p.m.! won’t though – have to tidy…. hrmhph

  2. I would love to spend days too just having a time all for myself at the beach. No clock telling me it’s time to wake up and go to work. Why can’t we all just have these peaceful moments all the time?

  3. Great honesty. It is helpful for those of us who have envy over people who do not work office hours to be reminded of the benefits of that lifestyle as well. The grass is always greener, I suppose.

  4. Me encanta este gazpacho, tomo nota. Has pasado a ver mi mermelada de calabacin, que si la pruebas ya me contaras; Me preguntas que yo no doy la vuelta a los tarros, siempre las he envasado, cortando un circulo del tamaño de la boca del bote impregnado en un poco de alcohol, nunca he tenido ningún problema, no da mal sabor y se han conservado bien, por eso no he cambiado a lo que veo de dar la vuelta a los tarros, que seguro se conservan al vacion es.daenupmentetBss.

Leave a Reply

